It’s not the destination, it’s the journey

November 9, 2007

I know there are some really cool linking sites (I use Del.icio.us and clipmarks – but there are tons others). But what we don’t really find are really cool “travel to a link” sites. I am amazed at how I discover content on a daily basis. So much so that I am trying to write another topic “dampening the noise” but I wanted to take you through this trip I took today:

1) First I read my LinkedIn “Q & A for Product Management” – a saved RSS feed of any questions asked by people on LinkedIn dealing with Product Management
2) From their I found an interesting and timely question about Product Management and Agile Development
3) While reading the 10 responses I found one response that had a link to another timely blog post by Stacey Weber at Pragmatic Marketing (my favorite PM site)
4) While reading that I decided to check out their “Blogs” section where I stumbled upon (no pun intended) a whole slew of blogs that they recommend (in various categories)

After looking through this list for a while – my head hurt – I was completely overwhelmed by the amount of information so I had to quit. I stopped. Couldn’t go on any further – paralyzed by information.

This was all from one post in one of my 40+ RSS Feeds (each averaging 20 plus posts since the last time I read them)

We really need a better way to consume information…

Blogged with Flock

2 Responses to “It’s not the destination, it’s the journey”

  1. mikull Says:

    are you like me – in that you subscribe to a couple of feeds you know are awesome, always mean to read, but build up so fast you don’t have the energy? and yet, you won’t delete them from your aggregator because you know you it’s info you should have? i wanted to say something clever here, but i’m too tired… let’s just call it RSS guilt.

    But what is the solution? Keywords to maintain desired focus? I don’t want to pick any – I want to discover what I might not realize I wanted.

    Maybe we need better behavior analyzing algorithms? Like amazon recommendations, but smarter? And still, will that be enough?

    I used to learn what I really wanted in a site- now I’m learning what I really want in my feeds. I suppose you can’t complain about having too much knowledge, but you’re right. Can we improve this?

  2. notronwest Says:

    How many great blog posts (with real truth and human experience) go unnoticed? I know it seems like everyone has a view these days, but I can not help but feel that we hold more information then we used to – we have to – it is all around us.

    Again – somehow we have to produce faster means for “internalizing” information – not reading – “internalizing”.

    I think that the future of the web holds that for me – check your Del.icio.us account – I sent you a link last night you may find it a good read.


Leave a Reply

