Has anyone been paying attention lately?

April 28, 2006

Ok, so I have been in a shell for a few years, gliding around entrenched in my work and traveling. I pop my head up for a minute and all of the sudden there is this software revolution going on! What the heck.

For the past 4 years I have been working for a Web based CMS written in ColdFusion. Since our product has been around for so long (since 1999) our architecture supports pretty old technology. When new stuff comes out I usually read about, fool around with it and the watch it pass by. I am amazed at what is available and what is still being built. It seems if you want you can find an application to manage your shoe collection. It's amazing.

Well I have been reading a lot more (a lot of the sites listed to the right) and I am psyched! I feel much like I did back in '96 when I realized the power of web applications and started building them. It was a ton of fun building, architecting, testing (yeah right).

It seems that there is a rejuvination of that spirit. Just read TechCrunch, SolutionWatch and the Read/Write Web. If you don't get pumped about the software that is available your dead or boring. Some of my new favorites:

– Zillow
– Google Calendar
– Box.net (a bit scary but cool)
– Google Earth
– Anything IPod Related

Will this increse in software development produce the same type of tech fever that was created in the mid 90's? Without a doubt. We have a ton of smart people out there who have been studying the social aspects surrounding our increased use of the Internet. With the renewal in VC funding in the past few years, it is only a matter of time before applications become more main stream.

Leave a Reply

